This Web page includes updates that were added after it was originally published on June 9, 2014.Show me the June 9, 2014, web published version.
New students who are entering the college for the first time should follow this version when selecting courses.
Show me what changed in 2014-2015.
Effective Date: Spring 2015
*A full-time College District employee, College District retiree, or eligible dependent who resides outside Dallas County is eligible for Dallas County tuition rates. An individual who would have been classified as a resident for the first five of the six years immediately prededing registration but who resides in another state for all or part of the year immediately preceding registration shall be classified as a resident student.
For distance learning students who reside outside of Texas and have not maintained Texas as their residency of record, a distance learning tuition of $55 per credit hour (a minimum of $165 for 3 credit hours or less) shall be charged in addition to out-of-state or out-of-country tuition. (This charge may be adjusted for third party payers who have established a distance learning partnership with the District and provide contracted services in lieu of payment of all or a portion of the distance learning tuition.)For those to whom this distance learning tuition applies, please see the table below to assist you in your planning.
Additional Residency and Tuition Information
Please discuss any questions regarding proper tuition classification with admissions office personnel.
The charge for auditing a course is the same as taking the course for credit.
Provided they established legal residence in the State of Texas, a student's county of residence is the county in which their legal guardian resides, if they are under 18 years of age. Students 18 years of age and older are deemed to be residents of the county in which they reside.
"Out-of-State Residents" are defined to be students of less than 18 years of age, living away from their family and whose family resides in another state or whose family has not resided in Texas for 12 months immediately preceding the date of registration; or students 18 years of age or older who have not been residents of the state 12 months subsequent to their 18th birthdays or for the 12 months immediately preceding the date of registration.
The description of resident and non-resident status contained above are generally applicable, but the determination of residence status for tuition purposes is specifically governed by the provisions of V.T.C.A. Education Code, Section 54.052, the rules and regulations of the Coordinating Board, Texas College and University System, and judicial and/or administrative interpretations thereof. In the event of conflict between the above-noted descriptions and the latter authorities, the latter shall govern.
A foreign national on any other than a permanent resident visa must pay out-of-country tuition and fees.
The tuition schedule above is subject to change without notice by action of the District Board of Trustees or the State of Texas.
By law (TEC: section 4, subchapter B. chapter 54; sec. 54.0521, 1985), the STATE OF TEXAS requires that the CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION be signed.
The law states that if the institution later determines that the individual was not entitled to be classified as a resident at the time of the individual's registration, the individual shall pay to the institution the amount the individual should have paid as a non-resident. If the individual fails to make timely payment as required, the individual is not entitled to receive a transcript or to receive credit for courses taken during the time the individual was falsely registered as a resident student.
THE CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION IS NOT ACCEPTABLE IN LIEU OF DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE.
Pursuant to the authorization contained in the Education Code, Section 130.0032, the Board authorizes a person who resides outside the District, but is a state resident and who owns property subject to ad valorem taxation by the District, or a dependent of the person, to pay tuition at the rate that applies to a student who resides in the District.
An individual who has come from outside the state of Texas and registered with a college before having resided in the state for a 12-month period immediately preceding the date of registration and his or her dependents are entitled to pay the tuition and other fees required of Texas residents if the individual has located in Texas as an employee of a business or organization that became established in this state as part of the state's economic development and diversification program authorized by the constitution and laws of this state and if the individual files with the college a letter of intent to establish residency in Texas.
Richland College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Richland College.
Educational opportunities are offered by the Dallas County Community College District without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity or gender expression.