Richland College - Degree Plans - Computer Information Technology (Networking Security Awards) - UNIX System Administrator Certificate

2013 - 2014 Catalog
Program: Computer Information Technology (Networking Security Awards)
Degree Plan: UNIX System Administrator Certificate

Skip Navagation

Collapse Courses and Degrees

This degree plan includes updates that were added after it was originally published on May 28, 2013.
New students who are entering the college for the first time should follow the version on this page.

Show me the May 28, 2013, web published version.
Show me what changed in 2013-2014.

(Level I Certificate)

Richland only

  • Students pursuing this certificate are waived from the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards, but must meet course prerequisites.
  • Students must earn at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by the college awarding the degree.

Degree Plan Code: C1.CIT.UNIX.RLC.13

This certificate is designed to provide a basic understanding of the duties associated with an UNIX System Administrator. Courses will assist the graduate in preparation for the Sun Certified System Administrator credential (SCSA). Students must complete the following Solaris courses in sequence: ITSC 1429, ITSC 1456, ITSC 1454, and ITSC 1452.

Prerequisites: Basic understanding of terminology and operating systems used with computers as obtained in ITSC 1401, BCIS 1405, or COSC 1401 or equivalent experiences approved by designated Information Technology personnel.



ITSE 1429 Programming Logic and Design OR 4
ITSC 1415 Project Management Software (4)
ITNW 1425 Fundamentals of Networking Technologies 4


ITSC 1429 Fundamentals of Solaris Operating Environment (SA) OR 4
ITSC 1407 UNIX Operating System I OR (4)
ITSC 1416 Linux Installation and Configuration (4)
ITSC 1456 Solaris Shell Programming (SL) OR 4
ITSC 1442 Shell Programming (4)


ITSC 1454 Solaris Operating Environment Systems Administrations I (SA) OR 4
ITSC 2437 UNIX Operating System II OR (4)
ITSC 1458 UNIX System Administration I (4)


ITSC 1452 Solaris Operating Environment Systems Administrations II (SA) OR 4
ITSC 2425 Advanced Linux (4)
Elective Any CPMT, EECT, ITCC, ITDF, ITMC, ITMT, ITNW, ITSC, ITSW, or ITSY course 3-4
Minimum Hours Required 27-28

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.

Copyright © 2009 Richland College | DCCCD

Richland College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Richland College.

Educational opportunities are offered by the Dallas County Community College District without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity or gender expression.