2022 - 2023 Dallas College Catalog

2022 - 2023 Catalog
Program: Computer Information Technology (PC Support Awards)
Title: Information Systems Administration Specialist Certificate

(Level 1 Certificate)

El Centro campus only

  • Students pursuing this certificate are waived from the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards, but must meet course prerequisites.
  • Complete at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by Dallas College.

Degree Plan Code: C1.CIT.IS.ADM.SPC

This specialist certificate offers an expanded foundation in information technology that includes networking, operating systems, client services, project management, business communication and databases. The graduate will acquire hands-on learning experience and troubleshooting skills necessary to serve as IT support professional.

Credit may be earned and course substitutions are permitted for candidates who have acquired certifications such as: Network+, A+, Google IT Support Professional, and any other certifications related to courses listed in the degree.

Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITSC 1370 Google IT Support Professional 3
ITSC 1325 Personal Computer Hardware 3
ITNW 1325 Fundamentals of Networking Technologies 3
Semester Total 9
Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITSC 1305 Introduction to PC Operating Systems 3
ITSC 2339 Personal Computer Help Desk Support 3
ITSC 1315 Project Management Software 3
ITSC 1380 Cooperative Education-Computer and Information Sciences, General OR 3
POFI 2350 Databases (3)
Semester Total 12
Course Course Title Credit Hours
POFT 2312 Business Correspondence and Communication 3
ITSC 2335 Application Software Problem Solving OR 3
ITNW 1264 Practicum (or Field Experience) - Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications (2)
Semester Total 5-6
Minimum Hours Required 26-27

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.