2023 - 2024 Catalog
Financial Aid Process for College Transfer Applicants
Transfer students must submit official transcripts from all previous colleges attended. If you have an unevaluated transcript with a print date that is more than three years old, you must submit a new one for evaluation. For those who transfer to Dallas College, all previous college transcripts must be received and evaluated by the deadlines listed above. If you are applying for financial aid, please be prepared to pay tuition and fees until financial aid is evaluated based on your transfer request and eligibility.
- Students must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Applicants should complete information on themselves and their spouses or parents (if applicable) and obtain the appropriate signatures as outlined in the directions for the FAFSA. The FAFSA can be filed with the government processor in one of the following ways:
- By FAFSA On The Web: Submitting the FAFSA to the government processor can be done over the Internet. The address to the Web site www.studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid. This method can take less than a week for the government to process, and it is the fastest and easiest way to apply for aid.
- By mobile app: Students and parents can complete the FAFSA(Free Application for Federal Student Aid) using the myStudentAid app. Students and parents may download the myStudentAid app in the Apple App Store(IOS) or the Google Play store(Android) onto their mobile device.
- By paper: Paper FAFSA can be requested by FAFSA on the Web at 2023-2024 Free Application for Federal Student Aid.
Students should take care when selecting additional courses to be transferred toward a Baccalaureate degree. Texas State Law (HB 1172) allows an institution to charge the equivalent of out of state tuition for credit hours taken beyond the state limits. State limits are:
For students entering public Texas institutions Fall 1999 - Summer 2006 who attempt 45 hours beyond what is required for Baccalaureate degree (120 hours). For students entering Fall 2006 and thereafter who attempt 30 hours beyond the hours required for a Baccalaureate degree. It is recommended that students take minimal hours beyond degree requirements to avoid possible higher tuition charges at the institution to which they are transferring.