This is an archived Dallas College Online Catalog. Please visit our current Online CatalogOnline Catalog at
2021 - 2022 Dallas College Catalog

2021 - 2022 Catalog
Program: Cyber Security
Degree Plan: Digital Forensic Analyst Advanced Technical Certificate

Note: This program may lead to an occupational license for which a prior criminal history may make a student ineligible. For more information, please visit:

(Advanced Technical Certificate)

Richland campus only

  • Students pursuing this award program are required to meet Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards and course prerequisites.
  • Complete at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by Dallas College.

Degree Plan Code: ATC.CYBER.DIG.FOR

The Digital Forensic Analyst Certificate is an advanced technical certificate that provides an opportunity for students to acquire advanced specialized knowledge and skills to collect, identify, classify, and analyze digital evidence related to criminal or civil investigations. Those working in this field may be required to testify as expert witnesses on evidence or crime laboratory techniques. In order to award this certificate, students must hold an associate degree or higher degree in the related field (information technology, computer science, criminal justice, accounting, law, or health). Exceptions will be granted for other degrees and junior level status in related areas will be approved by the program coordinator.

Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITDF 1400 Introduction to Digital Forensics 4
ITDF 1405 Digital Data Storage Forensics 4
ITDF 2420 Digital Forensics Collection 4
Semester Total 12
Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITDF 2425 Digital Forensics Tools 4
ITDF 2430 Digital Forensics Analysis 4
ITDF 2435 Comprehensive Digital Forensics Project OR 4
ITDF 2471 Internship for Digital Forensics (4)
Semester Total 12
Minimum Hours Required 24

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.