This is an archived RLC Online Catalog. Please visit our current Online CatalogOnline Catalog at
Dallas College Catalog filtered for Richland Campus
2020 - 2021 Dallas College Catalog
Catalog Filter(s): Richland Campus (remove)

2020 - 2021 Catalog
Program: Computer Information Technology (Networking Security Awards)
Degree Plan: Networking Associate Certificate

(Level 1 Certificate)

Brookhaven, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake, and Richland campus only

  • Students pursuing this certificate are waived from the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards, but must meet course prerequisites.
  • Complete at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by Dallas College.

Degree Plan Code: C1.CIT.NWK.ASSOC.16

This certificate option will provide education and training for individuals interested in developing their knowledge and skills as networking professionals with an emphasis on preparation for those wishing to take the CCNA certification examination.

Prerequisite: Basic understanding of personal computers and operating systems as obtained in ITSC 1401, BCIS 1405, or COSC 1301 or equivalent experience approved by designated Information Technology personnel.

Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITCC 1414 CCNA 1: Introduction to Networks 4
ITCC 1440 CCNA 2: Routing and Switching Essentials * 4
Semester Total 8
Course Course Title Credit Hours
ITCC 2412 CCNA 3: Scaling Networks 4
ITCC 2413 CCNA 4: Connecting Networks * 4
Semester Total 8
Minimum Hours Required 16

*Upon completion of ITCC 1440 CCNA 2: Routing and Switching Essentials, the student is eligible to take the CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician) credentialing exam. *Upon completion of ITCC 2413 CCNA 4: Connecting Networks, the student is eligible to take the CCNA (Cisco Certified Networking Associate) Routing and Switching credentialing exam.

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.