2015 - 2016 Combined Catalogs of the Colleges

Program: Computer Information Technology (Networking Security Awards)
Degree Plan: Information Security Certificate

This degree plan includes updates that were added after it was originally published on June 11, 2015.
New students who are entering the college for the first time should follow the version on this page.

Show me the June 11, 2015, web published version.
Show me what changed in 2015-2016.

Gainful Employment Information

(Level I Certificate)

Brookhaven, Eastfield and El Centro Colleges

  • Students pursuing this certificate are waived from the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards, but must meet course prerequisites.
  • Students must earn at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by the college awarding the degree.

Degree Plan Code: C1.CIT.INFOSECU.16

This certificate provides hands-on, in-depth training to meet industry demands and concerns in protecting critical information infrastructures against cyber threats. The graduate will be qualified for entry-level positions in a network environment dealing with security challenges.

Prerequisites: Extensive knowledge of the computer field is required including basic understanding of personal computers and operating systems as obtained in ITSC 1401 or BCIS 1405 or COSC 1401, as well as strong networking concepts obtained in Cisco and/or Microsoft networking courses or equivalent experiences approved by designated Information Technology personnel. It is further recommended that you have one or more of the following: Certificate and/or AAS in networking, BS or BA in Computer Science, or Cisco CCNA, Novell CNE, Microsoft MCSA and/or MCSE, A+ and Network+, SCSA, UNIX/Linux certification, or other vendor specific certifications. It is recommended that you discuss your computer knowledge with one of the instructors teaching the courses to insure you have the required foundation to succeed.


ITSY 1400 Fundamentals of Information Security 4
ITSY 1442 Information Technology Security 4
ITSY 2400 Operating System Security 4
ITSY 2401 Firewalls and Network Security OR 4
ITCC 2441 CCNA Security (4)


ITSY 2459 Security Assessment and Auditing OR 4
ITSY 2445 Network Defense and Countermeasures (4)
ITSY 2442 Incident Response and Handling 4
ITSY 1491 Special Topics in Information Technology/Security OR 4
ITSY 2441 Security Management Practices OR (4)
ITSY 2443 Computer System Forensics (4)
Minimum Hours Required 28

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.

© 2024 Dallas County Community College District.