This is an archived DCCCD Online Catalog. Please visit our current Online CatalogOnline Catalog at
Notice: This catalog is no longer actively maintained. Some of the links/pages may no longer function. We apologize for any inconvenience.
DCCCD 2010-2011 Catalog banner
Previous Catalog Years  Previous Catalog Years
Catalog Table of Contents  Catalog Table of Contents
    Degrees Degrees
         Degree Plans by Location  Degree Plans by Location
         Degree Plans by Subject  Degree Plans by Subject
         Course Descriptions  Course Descriptions
DCCCD Core Curriculum  DCCCD Core Curriculum
DCCCD Core Curriculum  DCCCD Core Options for AAS Awards
Transfer Services  Transfer Services
Degree Plans - Computer Information Technology (Networking Security Awards) - Information Security Certificate (Archived)

This degree plan includes updates that were added after it was originally published on May 28, 2010.
New students who are entering the college for the first time should follow the version on this page.

Show me the May 28, 2010, web published version.
Show me what changed in 2010-2011.


(Level I Certificate)

Brookhaven, Eastfield, El Centro and North Lake Colleges

CVC-Deactivated June 1, 2009.

  • Students pursuing this certificate are waived from the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) standards, but must meet course prerequisites.
  • Students must earn at least 25% of the credit hours required for graduation through instruction by the college awarding the degree.

Degree Plan Code: C1.CIT.INFO.SECUR.11

This certificate provides hands-on, in-depth training to meet industry demands and concerns in protecting critical information infrastructures against cyber threats. The graduate will be qualified for entry-level positions in a network environment dealing with security challenges.

Prerequisites: Extensive knowledge of the computer field is required including basic understanding of personal computers and operating systems as obtained in ITSC 1401 or BCIS 1405 or COSC 1401, as well as strong networking concepts obtained in Cisco and/or Microsoft networking courses or equivalent experiences approved by designated Information Technology personnel. It is further recommended that you have one or more of the following: Certificate and/or AAS in networking, BS or BA in Computer Science, or Cisco CCNA, Novell CNE, Microsoft MCSA and/or MCSE, A+ and Network+, SCSA, UNIX/Linux certification, or other vendor specific certifications. It is recommended that you discuss your computer knowledge with one of the instructors teaching the courses to insure you have the required foundation to succeed.


ITSY 1400 Fundamentals of Information Security 4
ITSY 1442 Information Technology Security 4
ITSY 2400 Operating System Security 4
ITSY 2401 Firewalls and Network Security OR 4
CPMT 2434 Network Security (4)


ITSY 2459 Security Assessment and Auditing 4
ITSY 2442 Incident Response and Handling OR 4
ITSY 2430 Intrusion Detection (4)
ITSY 1491 Special Topics in Information Technology/Security OR 4
ITSY 2441 Security Management Practices OR (4)
ITSY 2443 Computer System Forensics (4)
Minimum Hours Required 28

NOTE: Students enrolling in this program who plan to transfer to a four-year institution should consult an advisor or counselor regarding transfer requirements and the transferability of these courses to the four-year institution of their choice.

Skip to Home navigation